Alexander McQueen

One of the artists suggested to me was Alexander McQueen, a British fashion designer that won several awards for his work. It was suggested that I look to his work for inspiration on the transition of languages.

The main thing that struck me first was his work with Damien Hirst, I already appreciate patterns greatly and this work really stood out to me to the point I immediately wanted to recreate something similar and merge it with some of my own design work based on William Morris. The thing I like the most is the fact that it was made using butterfly wings, just laid out and set up in a way that when repeated around a pivot, would create a beautiful piece of work.

tumblr_mw8tahSoJQ1qh0hjwo9_r1_1280damien-hirst-alexander-mcqueen-10th-anniversary-skull-scarf1damien-hirst-alexander-mcqueen2damien-hirst-+-alexander-mcqueen-unveil-skull-scarf-series-designboom-11347418-3010q-9268-r53

Leave a Reply

